Studentship vacancies

Why do an NC3Rs-funded PhD?

  • Gain a solid introduction to research that aims to replace, reduce and refine the use of animals in science.
  • Undertake scientific training with a prestigious university committed to 3Rs research.
  • Join the UK's growing 3Rs research community and participate in our studentship summer school.
  • Contribute to research that advances the boundaries of how science is conducted.

Requirements

Candidates should hold, or realistically expect to obtain, at least an Upper Second Class Honours degree or equivalent. They should have a strong academic background in the biological sciences and a desire to pursue research in line with that of the research groups. Requirements vary for each studentship.

Posts are open to UK nationals. EU nationals, who have spent at least 3 years prior to the application resident in the UK, are also eligible to apply. Non-UK residents can only be considered if the Research Organisation can demonstrate a shortage of high-quality UK candidates, and this must be approved by the NC3Rs prior to appointment.

Funding provides full support for tuition fees for the three-year duration of the studentship, associated project costs, and an annual tax-free stipend. The national minimum doctoral stipend is set annually by RCUK, for 2015/2016 - £14,057. In line with the MRC, NC3Rs sets a higher minimum stipend level for inside London, for 2015/2016 - £16,057.

Current vacancies

11 three-year PhD studentships are being funded by the NC3Rs, one of which is jointly funded with BHF. All the studentships are due to commence in 2017. For further information, details of the application process and deadlines for submission, please contact the relevant project supervisor:

University of Nottingham
Modelling central and peripheral nervous system connectivity using compartmentalised microfluidic systems
Supervisor: Dr Federico Dajas-Bailador F.Dajas-Bailador@nottingham.ac.uk 

Lancaster University
Developing a novel experimental design and analysis model for longitudinal animal studies with high-dimensional outcomes
Supervisor: Professor Peter Diggle p.diggle@lancaster.ac.uk

University of Nottingham
Application of a 3D hydrogel-based model to replace use of animals for passaging patient-derived xenografts
Supervisor: Dr Anna Grabowska anna.grabowska@nottingham.ac.uk 

University of Manchester
Development of a biologically-relevant preclinical radiotherapy dosimetry phantom
Supervisor: Professor Karen Kirkby karen.kirkby@ics.manchester.ac.uk

King's College London
Identifying regulators of tissue regeneration by in vivo imaging in the zebrafish
Supervisor: Dr Robert Knight robert.knight@kcl.ac.uk

University of Leeds
Organoid and single cell models of bladder cancer
Supervisor: Professor Margaret Anne Knowles m.a.knowles@leeds.ac.uk

University of Edinburgh
Investigation of key inflammatory cells & mediators in zebrafish larval tailfin & heart repair/regeneration following resolution of inflammation (joint award with BHF)
Supervisor: Professor Adriano Rossi a.g.rossi@ed.ac.uk

University of Nottingham
Genetic screens in intestinal/colon organoid (mini-gut) culture using the CRISPR-Cas9 system
Supervisor: Dr Abdolrahman Shams Nateri a.nateri@nottingham.ac.uk

Imperial College London
In silico design and optimisation of novel host-directed therapies
Supervisor: Dr Reiko Tanaka r.tanaka@imperial.ac.uk

University of Edinburgh
Standardization of preclinical PET/CT protocols across multiple research centres
Supervisor: Dr Adriana Tavares adriana.tavares@ed.ac.uk 

University of Cambridge
In vitro reconstitution of the polymicrobial community associated with cystic fibrosis (CF) airway infections
Supervisor: Dr Martin Welch mw240@cam.ac.uk