Studentship vacancies

Why do an NC3Rs-funded PhD?

  • Gain a solid introduction to research that aims to replace, reduce and refine the use of animals in science.
  • Undertake scientific training with a prestigious university committed to 3Rs research.
  • Join the UK's growing 3Rs research community and participate in our studentship summer school.
  • Contribute to research that advances the boundaries of how science is conducted.

Requirements

Candidates should hold, or realistically expect to obtain, at least an Upper Second Class Honours degree or equivalent. They should have a strong academic background in the biological sciences and a desire to pursue research in line with that of the research groups. Requirements vary for each studentship.

Posts are open to UK nationals. EU nationals, who have spent at least three years prior to the application resident in the UK, are also eligible to apply. Non-UK residents can only be considered if the Research Organisation can demonstrate a shortage of high-quality UK candidates, and this must be approved by the NC3Rs prior to appointment.

Funding provides full support for tuition fees for the three-year duration of the studentship, associated project costs, and an annual tax-free stipend. The national minimum doctoral stipend is set annually by RCUK – for 2018/19, this is £14,777. In line with the MRC, NC3Rs sets a higher minimum stipend level for inside London – for 2018/19 this is £16,777.

Current vacancies

17 three-year PhD studentships are being funded by the NC3Rs, three of which are jointly funded with BHF. All the studentships are due to commence in 2019. For further information, details of the application process and deadlines for submission, please contact the relevant project supervisor:

Newcastle University
Refining weaning age in macaques destined for neuroscience research
Supervisor: Professor Melissa Bateson – melissa.bateson@ncl.ac.uk

Queen Mary University of London
A 3Rs approach to tumour metastasis: investigating the role of cancer stem cells in metastasis using an in vitro microfluidic model
Supervisor: Dr Adrian Biddle – a.biddle@qmul.ac.uk

Queen's University of Belfast
Development of novel models of kidney damage using induced human pluripotent stem cells
Supervisor: Dr Derek Brazil – d.brazil@qub.ac.uk

Imperial College London
Towards multiplexed in vivo phenotypic screening to improve antimicrobial drug discovery
Supervisor: Dr Matthew Child – m.child@imperial.ac.uk

University of Leeds
Development of an invertebrate model of alternating hemiplegia of childhood
Supervisor: Dr Steven Clapcote – S.J.Clapcote@leeds.ac.uk

University of Nottingham
An in vivo genetic screen of lung function candidate genes using tissue specific RNAi in Drosophila melanogaster
Supervisor: Dr Marios Georgiou –

University of Aberdeen
Modelling Candida albicans infection of the human gut using human intestinal organoid cultures
Supervisor: Dr Silvia Gratz – S.Gratz@abdn.ac.uk

University of Nottingham
Replacement of animal models of cardiac arrest and resuscitation strategies using a computer simulation (award made under the 2018 highlight notice)
Supervisor: Professor Jonathan Hardman –

Manchester Metropolitan University
Development and characterization of a novel endothelialized in vitro model of human atherothrombosis (joint award with the BHF)
Supervisor: Dr Sarah Jones – s.jones@mmu.ac.uk

University of Edinburgh
Reducing number of mice required for drug testing via development of first in vitro automated screening platform of injured mammalian brain
Supervisor: Dr Veronique Miron –

University of Birmingham
An organotypic model of the bone remodelling process
Supervisor: Dr Amy Naylor – a.naylor@bham.ac.uk

University of Liverpool
Experimental evolution of Pseudomonas aeruginosa in media replicating the conditions of the upper and lower airways
Supervisor: Dr Daniel Neill – D.Neill@liverpool.ac.uk

University of Reading
Fusogenic liposomes: the innovative delivery of compounds into human platelets to reduce animal use in platelet research (joint award with the BHF)
Supervisor: Dr Alice Pollitt – a.pollitt@reading.ac.uk

King’s College London
Maternal immune activation: advancing from rodents to humans through a development of a hIPSC model to study gene x environment interactions
Supervisor: Dr Anthony Vernon – anthony.vernon@kcl.ac.uk

University of Birmingham
Advanced in vitro and in silico models to predict and prevent deep venous thrombosis (joint award with the BHF)
Supervisor: Dr Daniele Vigolo – d.vigolo@bham.ac.uk

University of Oxford
Fasting-induced torpor in mice: effects on sleep and behaviour
Supervisor: Professor Vladyslav Vyazovskiy – vladyslav.vyazovskiy@dpag.ox.ac.uk

University College London
Replacing Alzheimer's disease (AD) - Down syndrome (DS) mice with fly models
Supervisor: Dr Frances Wiseman – f.wiseman@ucl.ac.uk